• Family of 2 boys (13 and 11) needs Part-time homemaking support (live-out) in North Vancouver

    Posted over month ago

    Staticmap?center=49.3207, 123
    • Job Location North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

    • Start Date / Time As soon as possible

    • Helper Type Nanny (live-out)

    • Availability Part-time

    • Shifts Weekdays

    • Rate/hr $18.00 - $25.00

  • About the Family

    Melina S

    Melina S

    Caring, active family with 2 kids and dog looking for a fantastic nanny to help with homemaking support

    We have two boys living at home (13 yrs and 11 yrs). Our older daughter lives away from home while at school. We also have a lovely and gentle 2 year old chocolate lab.

  • Job Description

    We are a busy family with two boys (age 13 and 11) and a 2 year old chocolate lab who is very calm and gentle. Our older daughter lives away from home while studying. My husband was in a car accident several years ago and still has challenges with concussion symptoms that make it difficult for him to do some of the household tasks he previously did. His condition is expected to be long term so we are looking for someone who can help with homemaking (housekeeping, laundry, meal prep) and, if possible, to be around home when the kids get home from school. The 13 year old is mostly independent these days but the 11 year still needs someone available to support if needed.

    The position will be probably 80% homemaking and 20% childcare. Daytime only support focussed on home-making is also an option if after-school timing not workable. Looking for around 15-20 hrs per week. Flexibility with hours is possible (number of hours per week and/or hrs per day, time of day or even days of the week). It would be great if the candidate is interested in working additional hours in the evenings on occasion when I have an evening work commitment, but not essential.

    Looking for someone kind, honest and hard-working who enjoys cooking and being with older kids. Seeking someone to start in mid-October or as soon as possible. We live in Central Lonsdale right by the 240, 255 and 228 bus routes. Glad to chat further about our needs and what kind of a situation you are seeking. We have had nannies for many years previously when the kids were younger and have always had an excellent relationship with our caregivers. We are looking for someone to help us with caregiving at this new stage for our family. I look forward to connecting!

  • Important Information

    The main role of a nanny is to provide a safe, caring, nurturing and stimulating environment in which the children thrive and develop. General responsibilities include undertaking tasks related to the children’s care which evolve as kids grow. Attentive, high quality childcare includes planning the children’s daily schedule, play and development activities appropriate to the child's age. In addition typically nannies are responsible for meal preparation for the kids, and keeping the children’s areas neat and tidy.

    Being a nanny means becoming a member of a household. Communicating with the family and clarifying their expectations is one of the most important aspects. No family is the same, and following their lead is key in succeeding through the interview and hiring process.

    A few important things to know:

    At myBestHelper, our greatest priority is to ensure that we meet every family's individual needs, by helping them hire reliable, competent and loving people. Our team is led by a family physician mom and has received national and international recognition for how we use technology to simplify and increase the support available to busy families.

    Our team have received over 22 awards and recognitions in the last four years, including the YWCA Women of Disctinction - Entrepreneurship, the global Cartier Women’s Initiative Award and being invited to participate in the Blackbox Connect accelerator powered by Google for Entrepreneurs.

    We deeply respect and support the people that work as caregivers - the nannies, sitters and helpers that may choose this as their career or be doing it to while in a life or career transition. That’s where you come in.

    Hiring Process: Apply now directly to this posting.

    We take hiring very seriously and carefully evaluate each application. We appreciate everyone's interest in being selected as a myBestHelper helper, only those being considered will be contacted.

    Take a look at this posting, or browse the many other jobs on the site. If you like what you see, apply to become one of our helpers and we will help you find work! Remember, when applying it's important to explain how you are trustworthy and caring caregiver.

    We usually look for people who have:

    - Unconditional positive regard for others, and themselves!

    - Strong work ethic including reliability, punctuality and good judgement

    - Ability to maintain open, positive, friendly and cooperative relationships

    - Adaptability and excellent organization skills in a constantly changing environment

  • Qualifications

    • You must be a non-smoker
    • You must be eligible to work in Canada

    Additional Qualifications:

    Enjoys cooking and willing to assist with meal prep and housework.

  • Simplify finding the right person by saving your searches.
  • Save favorites, see full profiles.
  • Free to browse and post a job, pay when you are ready.