Want to contact Alix and hundreds of other Helpers nearby? Sign up now - it only takes a few minutes!

Alix C

Alix C

Berkeley, 2 references

Friendly, fun and multilingual world traveler who loves arts and crafts and stimulating activities!

  • Usually replies in less than a day

  • Helper Roles Nanny (live-out)

  • Availability Full-time

  • Shifts Weekdays, Flexible/anytime

  • About Me

    **ONLY AVAILABLE: on some afternoons, Fridays, and Monday mornings. NOT AVAILABLE for full-time work or flexible schedules, sorry!**

    I was born in France and currently live in Vancouver. In between, I have lived in Boston, Montreal, Seattle, Athens (Greece!), and most recently in Cochabamba, Bolivia, for 3 months, where I was doing volunteer work for a nonprofit organization that builds health centers and schools in the impoverished Bolivian countryside. I just returned from that trip in mid-December and I am looking for part-time or full-time work looking after children of any age in the Vancouver area starting in January, while I continue to pursue my passion for International Development volunteering for the Canadian Fair Trade Network and other nonprofits in the Vancouver area.

    I have traveled to over a dozen countries, have a Black Belt in Tae Kwon Do, have a B.A. in International Development Studies, hold a certificate in Teaching English as Foreign Language, have experience teaching English and French to both adults and children, have tutored kids one-on-one and in groups in a variety of school subjects, speak fluently English, French and Spanish, and love playing music and painting in my free time. I also practice yoga and make sure to include physical exercise as part of my daily routine. I love nature and take every opportunity I can to go hiking, camping and to generally spend time in the great outdoors.

    What I love most about spending time with children is the way they are excited to learn anything new as long as it is taught in a fun, creative and stimulating way. My favorite things to do with children are going for walks in nature where they can learn about the diversity of our planet's natural ecosystems, engaging in creative activities such as playing music and doing arts and crafts, playing stimulating games and cooking fun and yummy foods!
    I also am an avid photographer and own an SLR camera, so (if you allow it) my time with your children will be documented with fun and beautiful portraits of your little ones for you to share with your family!
    My 9 years of experience practicing Tae Kwon Do have taught me above all else the importance of self confidence in kids, and this is something I always emphasize when spending time with children, no matter what age.

    I have owned over a dozen pets, from dogs to guinea pigs, bunnies and other rodents. I absolutely love animals and believe they can teach us a lot about care, respect, and about ourselves.
    If you have dogs, cats or any other pets, please be sure they will be well taken care of, and included in lots of our activities!

    If you are looking for a fun, young, creative, multilingual and multicultural individual to take care of (and have fun with!) your children, teach them life-changing lessons on self-confidence and open their minds to the wonders of our world, please get in touch with me.
    My schedule is very flexible, although I am looking for mostly weekday work. This may include some evenings and overnights if necessary.

    I am 24 years old, I was born in France and speak both French and English fluently, and Spanish at an advanced level.
    I recently returned from living in Bolivia where I was volunteering for a non-profit organization, Mano a Mano, who builds school and health centers in the remote villages of the impoverished Bolivian countryside.
    I am looking for a part-time or full-time job taking care of children and/or pets, while also volunteering for Vancouver-based nonprofits.
    I have experience taking care of children ages 6 months - 12 years old, including tutoring / helping with homework.
    My favorite things to do with children are: cooking, going for walks, going to museums, watching movies, doing yoga, arts and crafts, reading, stimulating learning activities (puzzles and games)...

    • Education: Undergraduate degree
    • School: B.A. in International Development Studies
  • Qualifications
    • Basics
    • Skills
    • Extra
  • References

    Alix has 2 references available

    Sign up to access full profile information

  • Simplify finding the right person by saving your searches.
  • Save favorites, see full profiles.
  • Free to browse and post a job, pay when you are ready.